FROM ROPING CHAMPION TO LEADER IN THE RODEO INDUSTRY

MEET ROSS MILLAR OF ROSS MILLAR ENTERTAINMENT.

ABOVE: Ross Millar of Ross Millar Entertainment Group wearing Dickies Relaxed Fit Icon Long Sleeve Denim Western Shirt. Western Shirt

MEET ROSS MILLAR OF ROSS MILLAR ENTERTAINMENT

Where He Started

FOUNDER
Ross Millar
LOCATION
Mono, ON
ESTABLISHED
1997
DEPARTMENT
President

"You know the one thing about rodeo, it’s live. Anything can happen."

Ross moved away from rodeo’s home in Calgary before throwing himself into the competition—and in his first year nabbed himself the Ontario Roping Championship. Since then Millar’s involved himself in Ontario’s rodeo scene in a big way, having organized the RAM rodeo tour for the past 22 years.

Ross Millar: Ross hard at work announcing the RAM Rodeo at Brooklin Ontario Fair.

Ross Millar: Ross hard at work announcing the RAM Rodeo at Brooklin Ontario Fair.

The

The Bucking Horse Event.

What He Does

Ross Millar Group (RMG) was formed to operate and promote the RAM Rodeo Tour in an effort to give more to the cowboys and cowgirls through competition and more cash prizing. RMG works to provide fans with an astonishing experience in the rural Ontario market. The events are designed to support the local community groups that host each rodeo. Lions Clubs, Rotary Clubs, and other local community groups have all reaped the benefits of successful RAM Rodeo Tour stops.

“So our world of Rodeo, we have different events, of course one of the fan favourite is the bull riding I think. The American Riders Association in their poll a few years back, did a poll as to what was the world’s toughest sport and they deemed it was bull riding. And it’s a crowd favourite. It’s like an 8 second adrenaline rush. You lock yourself on the back of a bull for 8 seconds and it’s just pure adrenaline. We also do the bucking horse, the saddle bronc and the bareback, which is probably my favourite event. And we’ve got the Build A Cowboy program, in fact it’s the Dickies Build A Cowboy program, and we are building young cowboys here all the time. And in the saddle bronc and bareback, we just had 12 new young cowboys, just starting for their first time. They are gonna be here this weekend, at the show today we’ve got a bunch of these kids going and they all came through the Dickies program."

The bucking horse event and a young cowboy at the Ross Millar Rodeo.

Top: A young cowboy at the RAM Rodeo. Bottom: Ross Millar.

Why He Does It

The rodeo tour takes place throughout Southern Ontario over the summer months, and last year featured everything from bareback riding to steer wrestling to tie-down roping. As it’s progressed Millar’s changed the rules to some of the sports in order to ensure the safety of the animals—and the Calgary Stampede has noticed, altering some of its rules as well.

“I am very proud, we’ve got towns in Ontario where we’ve been playing the whole 22 years we’ve been in the business and it’s good for the community, it brings something different, an education for the young kids and the people are showing the Canadian culture and at the same time, it gives the communities a chance to raise some needed moneys and put an event on and make it a spectacle.”

You know everybody says “hey do you ever ride bulls?’ I go “no”. Have I ever rode bulls? No. Will I ever ride bulls? No. That's a young man sport and I am too old for that.

Follow Ross Millar Entertainment Website |  Facebook | 

Check Out Our Selection of

MEN’S WORKWEAR →

DE CHAMPION DU LASSO À LEADER DE L’INDUSTRIE DU RODÉO

RENCONTREZ ROSS MILLAR DU ROSS MILLAR ENTERTAINMENT GROUP

CI-DESSUS : Ross Millar du Ross Millar Entertainment Group porte la chemise emblématique de style western en denim, coupe décontractée, de Dickies. western en denim, coupe décontractée, de Dickies

RENCONTREZ ROSS MILLAR DU ROSS MILLAR ENTERTAINMENT GROUP

Où a-t-il fait ses débuts?

Président
Ross Millar
Emplacement
Mono, ON
Fondation
1997
Rôle
President

« La chose la plus importante concernant le rodéo, c’est que c’est du direct. Tout peut arriver. »

Ross s’est éloigné de Calgary, la ville du rodéo, avant de se lancer dans la compétition – et au cours de sa première année, il a gagné le championnat de lasso de l’Ontario. Depuis, Millar s’est beaucoup impliqué dans le milieu du rodéo ontarien en organisant le RAM Rodeo Tour depuis 22 ans.

Ross Millar : Ross en train de présenter le RAM Rodeo à la Brooklin Ontario Fair.

Ross Millar : Ross en train de présenter le RAM Rodeo à la Brooklin Ontario Fair.

L’événement

L’événement de monte de cheval.

Ce qu’il fait

Le Ross Millar Group (RMG) fut fondé dans le but d’exploiter et de promouvoir le RAM Rodeo Tour afin de donner davantage aux cowboys et cowgirls grâce aux compétitions et à des prix en argent plus élevés. RMG offre aux adeptes une expérience incroyable dans les régions rurales de l’Ontario. Les événements sont conçus pour soutenir les groupes communautaires locaux qui accueillent chaque rodéo. Les Clubs Lions, les clubs Rotary et d’autres groupes communautaires locaux ont tous bénéficié du succès des étapes du RAM Rodeo Tour.

« Notre monde du rodéo est composé de différents événements. Bien sûr, je pense que l’un des événements que les adeptes préfèrent est la monte de taureau. Il y a quelques années, l’American Riders Association a effectué un sondage pour savoir quel était le sport le plus éprouvant du monde et a conclu que c’était la monte de taureau. Et le public adore ça. C’est comme une montée d’adrénaline qui dure 8 secondes. Vous vous accrochez fermement au dos d’un taureau pendant 8 secondes et c’est juste une pure montée d’adrénaline. Nous avons également la monte de cheval, avec ou sans selle, ce qui est sans doute ce que je préfère. Puis il y a le programme Build A Cowboy, qui s’appelle en fait le programme Dickies Build A Cowboy, et nous formons sans cesse des jeunes cowboys. Nous avons 12 nouveaux jeunes cowboys qui commencent tout juste la monte de cheval avec et sans selle. Ils seront là en fin de semaine, certains d’entre eux vont au spectacle aujourd’hui, et ils sont tous passés par le programme de Dickies. »

En haut : un jeune cowboy au RAM Rodeo.

En haut : un jeune cowboy au RAM Rodeo. Bottom: Ross Millar dans son élément

Pourquoi le fait-il

La tournée de rodéo parcourt tout le sud de l’Ontario pendant l’été. L’année dernière, il y a eu de tout, de la monte de cheval sans selle au terrassement du bouvillon en passant par la prise du veau au lasso. Au fil des ans, Millar a changé les règles de certains sports afin de garantir la sécurité des animaux – le Stampede de Calgary l’a remarqué et a aussi modifié certaines de ses règles.

« Je suis très fier, nous nous produisons dans certaines villes de l’Ontario chaque année depuis nos débuts, il y a 22 ans. C’est bon pour la communauté, ça apporte quelque chose de différent, ça éduque les jeunes et ça diffuse la culture canadienne. En même temps, ça donne une chance aux communautés de récolter des fonds nécessaires, d’organiser un événement et d’en faire un spectacle. »

Tout le monde me demande si je monte parfois un taureau. Je réponds « non ». Est-ce que j’ai déjà monté un taureau? Non. Est-ce que je vais le faire un jour? Non. C’est un sport pour les jeunes et je suis trop vieux pour ça.

Suivez Ross Millar : Ross Millar Entertainment Group Site Web |  Facebook | 

Découvrez notre sélection de

VÊTEMENTS DE TRAVAIL POUR HOMMES →