GIVING AT-RISK YOUTH A CHANCE TO BUILD A BETTER FUTURE

HAMMER HEADS

ABOVE: The Hammer Heads team in their Relaxed Fit Carpenter Denim Jeans after their first community clean up of the year.
Style Available Now: FLEX Relaxed Fit Straight Leg Carpenter Denim Jeans


HAMMER HEADS

Where They Started

COMPANY
Hammer Heads
PRESIDENT
James St. John
LOCATION
Toronto, ON
ESTABLISHED
2009
DEPARTMENT
Training

“Dickies sponsorship has made a profound difference in our program and to our graduates. Not only does this take a significant financial burden off of our participants, but it also contributes to their job-readiness in the eyes of employers, instilling confidence in our Hammer Heads’ abilities and in the professionalism associated with our program.” James St. John, Director of the Hammer Heads Program.

Hammer Heads was created by the Central Ontario Building Trades (COBT) in 2009 to support at-risk youth. The Hammer Heads Program is a skill and employment-based training program within the construction industry offering apprenticeship career opportunities to the youth of under-resourced neighbourhoods in our communities.

Hammer Heads: Hard at work cleaning the Weston Lions Club in the west end of Toronto.

Hammer Head students taking in all that there is to learn.

Hammer

Hammer Heads: Hard at work cleaning the Weston Lions Club in the west end of Toronto.

What They Do

Located in Toronto Ontario, Hammer Heads was created by the Central Ontario Building Trades (COBT) to support at-risk youth aged 18 – 26 from under-resourced and Aboriginal communities to develop the skills they need to gain meaningful employment as a registered apprentice in the skilled construction trades. Incorporating intense Health & Safety training, mandatory academic upgrading, Green training and life skills, the 12 week “hands-on bootcamp” style program exposes youth to a variety of construction trades, ensuring they have the necessary social and professional skills to successfully obtain a rewarding full-time career in construction with a fair wage, benefits and pension.

"The program definitely changes everybody’s life, if they’re committed to it because it gives you a sense of responsibility, it gives you a sense of being an adult, because you know they take us off the street, unfortunately, where our living situation wasn’t the best, and where everybody else has fortunate situations. The group that you see here? We had it tough. And we still have it tough. Me being a female, wanting to do construction, it’s a joke to a lot of people. So, when they see us out here and putting the effort and making us change our lives. Little by little, everything that they’re implying with us, we see it gradually, and it’s incredible. Like waking up early, cleaning after yourself, being a team leader, communication. It’s everything that you’ll use in your everyday lives, which is why we’re gonna be succeeding after this program. After twelve weeks we’re going to be adults, we’re not going to be kids."
-Ashley Pereira

Why They Do It

Graduating Class of the Hammer Heads Program in Toronto, Ontario

Above: Graduating Class of the Hammer Heads Program in Toronto, Ontario

I don’t really dislike anything about the program ‘cause they better you, right? They take you from one point and they bring you the point that you really need to be to actually get into the work industry. So, I love that about it. And for me, it’s just, I love the fact that that they’re changing me so I’m a better person to show to my son when he grows up. Yeah. -Samson Baptiste

Since the first class graduated in 2010, the program has produced 488 apprentices and several have completed their apprenticeship, making them full-fledged journeypersons. Our primary objective is job retention, getting a job is a start but maintaining full-time employment is a career. Our unique post graduation support focuses on triangular interaction between the program’s Field Representative, the graduate and their employer as we monitor our graduates throughout their first year of apprenticeship by accompanying them to work on their first day, then following up at the end of the first day, first week, second week, third week and monthly thereafter.

"Before coming in this program, I didn’t know how to talk to people. Like, I knew how to talk to people, but I was just shy. I didn’t really socialize with people. This program taught me and brought me out of my shell to socialize with people, and even taught me how to smile more. I used to never smile. I would just have a straight face all the time. Now I smile. That was normal to me, my mom’s always asking, “Why you smiling for?” And I told her, I told her it’s the program. She said, “That’s really good Ricardo.”
-Ricardo Beckford

"So, Hammer Head’s been keeping me busy full time. When I’m not in the program I’m at home focusing on schoolwork, right? To improve my knowledge further in trades math because mathematics is very important in terms of skilled trades. So, it’s really helping me keep out of trouble, keep my mind busy, right? So, I’m staying out of trouble. My parents at home are noticing a difference, they’re really proud of me. It’s amazing, to say the least, really. I love it.."
-Mathew Naula Uribe

Follow Hammer Heads on Instagram Here: Instagram

Follow Hammer Heads On Facebook Here: Facebook

Hammer Heads Website: Website

Check Out Our Selection of

MEN'S WORKWEAR →

DES JEUNES À RISQUE QUI BÂTISSENT UN AVENIR MEILLEUR

HAMMER HEADS

CI-DESSUS : Participants Hammer Heads portant le jeans menuisier décontracté en denim après leur première opération de nettoyage communautaire de l’année.
Modèle présentement en stock: Jeans menuisier FLEX en denim, coupe décontractée à jambe droite


HAMMER HEADS

Où ont-ils fait leurs débuts?

ENTERPRISE
Hammer Heads
PRÉSIDENT
James St. John
EMPLACEMENT
Toronto, ON
FONDATION
2009
DIRECTEUR
Formation

« L’appui de Dickies constitue un sérieux coup de pouce pour notre programme et nos diplômés. Non seulement ce programme professionnel enlève-t-il un gros poids financier des épaules de nos participants, mais il vient renforcer également leur employabilité aux yeux des donneurs d’ouvrage, en installant une confiance dans leurs capacités à bien faire les choses. » James St. John, directeur du programme Hammer Heads

Fondé en 2009, Hammer Heads est une initiative de l’organisme Central Ontario Building Trades (COBT) dont l’objectif est de soutenir les jeunes à risque. Le programme a pour but de former des jeunes issus de milieux défavorisés et des communautés et de développer leurs compétences afin qu’ils puissent se trouver des emplois gratifiants à titre d’apprentis qualifiés dans l’industrie de la construction.

Hammer Heads: Hard at work cleaning the Weston Lions Club in the west end of Toronto.

Hammer Heads: apprentissage

Hammer

Participants Hammer Heads : À l’œuvre en train de nettoyer le terrain du Weston Lions Club, dans la partie ouest de Toronto.

Ce qu’ils font

Implanté à Toronto, en Ontario, le programme Hammer Heads est une initiative de l’organisme Central Ontario Building Trades (COBT) réservée aux jeunes de 18 à 26 ans issus de milieux défavorisés et des communautés des Premières Nations. Son but : développer leurs compétences afin qu’ils puissent se trouver des emplois gratifiants à titre d’apprentis qualifiés pour œuvrer dans l’industrie de la construction. Offert à la manière d’un bootcamp pratico-pratique, le programme de 12 semaines aborde une grande variété de métiers de la construction, tout en proposant une mise à niveau des savoirs académiques, l’apprentissage rigoureux des mesures de santé et sécurité, la formation aux procédés « verts » et le développement des habiletés sociales – tout ceci afin d’acquérir les compétences professionnelles et humaines pour réussir sa carrière dans le domaine de la construction, avec un salaire, des avantages et une pension dignes de ce nom.

« Si on s’y engage, le programme peut changer notre vie puisqu’il enseigne le sens des responsabilités et ce que ça signifie être un adulte. Il nous permet de sortir de la rue, d’une situation qui, il faut le dire, n’est pas idéale et où on voit plein de gens dans des situations plus avantageuses. Le groupe que vous voyez ici? Nous ne l’avons pas eu facile. D’ailleurs, c’est toujours difficile. Comme femme, je fais souvent rire de moi lorsque je dis que je veux travailler dans le domaine de la construction. Mais lorsqu’on nous voit en train de travailler dur et de mettre des efforts pour améliorer notre vie... Petit à petit, nous nous rendons compte que nous intégrons graduellement ce qu’on nous enseigne, et c’est incroyable. Comme se lever tôt, se ramasser, devenir un leader et communiquer avec les autres. Ce sont toutes des compétences qui servent dans la vie de tous les jours; c’est pourquoi nous allons réussir dans la vie après avoir terminé ce programme. Au bout de douze semaines, nous ne serons plus des enfants; nous serons des adultes. »
-Ashley Pereira

Pourquoi le font-ils

Graduating Class of the Hammer Heads Program in Toronto, Ontario

CI-DESSUS : Classe terminale

Je n’ai vraiment rien de négatif à dire à propos de ce programme, parce qu’on en sort grandi. On te prend comme tu es et on t’offre la possibilité de te perfectionner afin de pouvoir entrer sur le marché du travail et de te trouver un emploi. Alors, j’apprécie vraiment cet aspect-là. Et pour moi, ce que j’aime le plus c’est que, grâce à eux, je suis en train de devenir une meilleure personne et un meilleur exemple pour mon fils lorsqu’il sera grand. Voilà.
-Samson Baptiste

Si l’on inclut la toute première cohorte de diplômés en 2010, le programme aura produit non moins de 488 apprentis, dont plusieurs ont obtenu le statut de travailleur pleinement qualifié. Notre principal objectif est le maintien en emploi. Obtenir un emploi est un bon début, mais en avoir un à temps plein signifie faire carrière. Notre programme de soutien post-diplôme, basé sur un modèle triangulaire qui met en relation le représentant du programme sur le terrain, le diplômé et son employeur, est un moyen d’encadrer le diplômé au cours de sa première année d’apprentissage en l’accompagnant à son travail le premier jour, puis en assurant un suivi à la fin de cette première journée, puis à la fin de chacune des trois premières semaines et, par la suite, une fois par mois.

« Avant de participer à ce programme, je ne savais pas comment m’adresser aux gens. Je veux dire, je savais comment leur parler, mais j’étais juste gêné. Je ne socialisais pas avec les gens. Ce programme m’a permis de m’épanouir et de m’ouvrir aux autres; il m’a même enseigné à sourire plus souvent. Je ne souriais jamais auparavant. J’avais tout le temps l’air sérieux. Maintenant, je souris. Maintenant, ma mère me demande sans cesse « Pourquoi tu souris? » Je lui ai dit que c’était le programme. Elle a répondu « C’est vraiment génial Ricardo. »
-Ricardo Beckford

« Le programme Hammer Head me garde pas mal occupé à temps plein. Lorsque je ne participe pas au programme, je suis à la maison en train de faire mes travaux scolaires. Pour m’améliorer en mathématiques appliquées aux métiers parce que les notions mathématiques sont très importantes dans les métiers spécialisés. Et ça me permet vraiment d’éviter les ennuis en gardant mon esprit occupé, voyez-vous? Donc, j’évite les ennuis. À la maison, mes parents ont remarqué une différence. Ils sont vraiment fiers de moi. Inutile de vous dire que c’est vraiment étonnant. J’adore ça. »
-Mathew Naula Uribe

Suivez les participants Hammer Heads Instagram: Instagram

Suivez les participants Hammer Heads Facebook: Facebook

Suivez les participants Hammer Heads Website: Website

Découvrez notre sélection de

VÊTEMENTS DE TRAVAIL POUR HOMMES →