Dickies Facebook

Keeping Roads Safe on the Highway Thru Hell

January 18, 2017 – Preparing for another season of treacherous weather conditions, extreme hauls, and endless rescue calls, Jamie Davis Heavy Rescue team is always ready for a challenge.

Jamie Davis and his team are heavily relied upon to rescue truckers, clear the road, and ensure the utmost safety on a deadly stretch of highway each and every day. This group of daring guys is regularly featured on "Highway Thru Hell," Discovery Channel’s series documenting the obstacles truckers and rescue teams face on one of British Columbia's deadliest roads.

On the Road

Highway 5, commonly referred to as simply The Coquihalla Highway, provides the shortest connection between Vancouver and Edmonton—but not without a struggle. The highway rides through a high mountain, filled with twists, turns and dangerous conditions.

Throughout the spring, summer and fall, driving the Coquihalla Highway is a breeze. But once winter arrives, it’s a different story—the phone at Jamie Davis' rings off the hook from people in need of his services. Just the slightest weather changes bring a series of obstacles that can send any vehicle into serious peril. That’s where the Jamie Davis Heavy Rescue team comes in.

Using a series of high-tech equipment, the guys lift big rigs back on their wheels, clear major crashes out of the road, tow cars that can’t make it through and much much more. There’s little this team hasn’t seen. Road closures are really not an option because this is such an important piece of highway that connects one side of the province to the other. Therefore, Jamie's team will do just about anything in their power to ensure roads safe for the harshest weather conditions.

“Our team is put through the wringer on a daily basis. For us to perform our best, we need the best extreme-weather protection, which is why we rely on Dickies Pro™ when we're on the job”

- Jamie Davis - President at Jamie Davis Motor Truck & Auto Ltd.

The harsh weather conditions such as rain, snow and hail, combined with the accidents this team is tasked with cleaning up, there’s no doubt that these guys are tough and need tough geat on the job. Dickies Pro™ rugged outerwear is designed with these conditions in mind.

“We head out to each job in confidence, knowing we’ll stay warm, dry, and comfortably protected from whatever the job throws at us. ”

- Jamie Davis - President at Jamie Davis Motor Truck & Auto Ltd.

With decades of experience in the automotive field, this team is not afraid to drive into the belly of the beast to help truckers and drivers get back to safety. The team puts their lives, and costly equipment, at risk every day to keep the entire Lower Mainland safe and Dickies is honoured to help keep them comfortable and protected while they concentrate on the job at hand.

Photo Gallery

On the job with Jamie Davis as he prepares for a tow on the mountain road.

Shop Jamie Davis Style

Dickies Facebook

Route de l’enfer : la sécurité avant tout

18 janvier 2017 – Jamie Davis et son équipe de secours pour véhicules lourds se préparent pour une autre saison hivernale marquée par des conditions météorologiques extrêmes, des remorquages difficiles et des demandes de sauvetages interminables.

Pour venir en aide aux camionneurs, dégager des voies obstruées et s’assurer que chaque portion dangereuse de la route est sécuritaire tous les jours, on peut se fier à Jamie Davis et à sa troupe. Ces hommes courageux tiennent régulièrement la vedette dans la série Highway Thru Hell diffusée sur la chaîne Discovery, où on peut voir ce que des camionneurs et des équipes de secours doivent affronter comme obstacles sur l’une des routes les plus meurtrières de la Colombie-Britannique.

La route

Communément appelée la route Coquihalla, l’autoroute 5 offre le plus court chemin entre Vancouver et Edmonton, mais elle ne se laisse pas facilement apprivoiser. Cette voie tortueuse traverse un col qui peut parfois se trouver dans des conditions dangereuses.

Parcourir la route Coquihalla au printemps, en été ou à l’automne est un charme. Mais lorsque l’hiver arrive, le téléphone de Jamie Davis ne dérougit pas. Il suffit d’un petit changement dans les conditions météo pour qu’une série d’obstacles viennent nuire à la conduite des camionneurs. C’est dans ces moments qu’intervient l’équipe de secours de Jamie Davis.

Grâce à de l’équipement de pointe, Jamie et sa troupe peuvent remettre sur leurs roues de grosses remorques, dégager la route à la suite d’accidents graves, remorquer des voitures en panne et bien plus encore. Depuis le temps, les gars en ont vu de toutes les couleurs. Fermer la route ne peut être considéré comme une option sur cette portion importante d’une autoroute qui traverse la province. Par conséquent, Jamie et son équipe font tout en leur pouvoir pour s’assurer que la voie est sécuritaire même lorsque les éléments se déchaînent.

“ Notre équipe est sollicitée sur une base quotidienne. Pour exceller dans notre travail, nous devons nous protéger des conditions climatiques extrêmes, et c’est pourquoi on peut se fier à Dickies ProMC ”

- Jamie Davis - Président de Jamie Davis Motor Truck & Auto Ltd.

Ça prend des gars solides et des vêtements robustes pour affronter la pluie, la neige et la grêle, et intervenir à la suite d’accidents pour dégager la route. Les vêtements d’extérieur Dickies ProMC sont conçus pour faire face à ces conditions.

“ Nous entreprenons chaque tâche avec confiance puisque nous savons que nous serons au chaud, au sec et bien protégés, peu importe ce qui nous attend. ”

- Jamie Davis - President at Jamie Davis Motor Truck & Auto Ltd.

Comptant plusieurs dizaines d’années d’expérience dans le domaine de l’automobile, cette équipe ne craint pas de plonger au cœur de l’action pour ramener les camionneurs et les conducteurs dans le droit chemin. Dickies est fière de contribuer au confort et à la protection de ces travailleurs qui mettent leurs vies en danger et qui utilisent de l’équipement coûteux chaque jour afin de maintenir toute la vallée du Bas-Fraser sécuritaire.

Galerie de photos

Dans le feu de l’action avec Jamie, sur le point d’entreprendre le remorquage sur la route montagneuse.

Voir les essentiels de Jamie Davis